MY ONE LITTLE WORD for 2015

I don’t know about you all, but I have had a lot of trouble this year trying to think about what word to use as my signature word.  I went through all the usual, Blessed, Amazed, Grace, Love, Precious, Live,Love, Laugh, Shine, …. it all sounded so,, superficial then I thought hey that’s a word. Not one I want as THE word though. (You can see where my brain is) I have been so scattered for a while now. I think this flare up has just thrown my brain into a big heaping pile of Random and shook it around and let it go flying about. Everything has been so out of the normal it seems and we have been struggling to get back to our groove. So as I sat here tonight thinking about 2 sweet awesome people I spent time on today. (I just loved,  may I add that) It made me really stop and think (yes, thinking, It did kinda hurt I know you will ask)  😉

I need to just get to that place where I can be “Still” again. Then it hit me. AHHHHHH!!!

fat lady

 !!STILL!!!  I know, IIII KNOOOW,  that seems like such a crazy, strange, word to be MY word. BUT hear me out. (and well duh MY WORD what do you expect anything but normal right?) I knew you would agree.
Still, is a VERY versatile word and is kinda all over the place. Like me right now. It means so many things. This word can be A noun, A verb, an Adjective, even an adverb. I KNOWWW!
It describes so much of where I am at right now what I am striving for, What I wish to be, what I so very much need. And who I am.. Still me. Looking for stillness,  Still the same ol same ol, we are STILL doing this huh? see where I’m going with this? But in the end. I hope to  end the year with calm Still, peace Be Still While right now its all… Still me! going AHHHHHCK. Make sense? Im looking forward . to the end.

Lets look at the definition (s)
STILL

stil/Submit
adjective
1.
not moving or making a sound.
“the still body of the young man”
synonyms: motionless, unmoving, not moving a muscle, stock-still, immobile, inanimate, like a statue, as if turned to stone, rooted to the spot, transfixed, static, stationary
“the parrot lay still”
antonyms: moving, active
(of air or water) undisturbed by wind, sound, or current; calm and tranquil.
“her voice carried on the still air”
synonyms: calm, flat, even, smooth, placid, tranquil, pacific, waveless, glassy, like a millpond, unruffled, stagnant
“the lake was still”
(of a drink) not effervescent.
noun
noun: still; plural noun: stills
1.
deep silence and calm; stillness.
“the still of the night”
synonyms: quietness, quiet, quietude, silence, stillness, hush, soundlessness; More
antonyms: noise, disturbance, hubbub
2.
an ordinary static photograph as opposed to a motion picture, especially a single shot from a movie.
adverb
adverb: still
1.
up to and including the present or the time mentioned; even now (or then) as formerly.
“he still lives with his mother”
synonyms: up to this time, up to the present time, until now, even now, yet
“she’s still running in circles”
referring to something that will or may happen in the future.
“we could still win”
2.
nevertheless; all the same.
“I’m afraid he’s crazy. Still, he’s harmless”
synonyms: nevertheless, nonetheless, regardless, all the same, just the same, anyway, anyhow, even so, yet, but, however, notwithstanding, despite that, in spite of that, for all that, be that as it may, in any event, at any rate; More
3.
even (used with comparatives for emphasis).
“write, or better still, type, captions for the pictures”
verb
verb: still; 3rd person present: stills; past tense: stilled; past participle: stilled; gerund or present participle: stilling
1.
make or become still; quieten.
“she raised her hand, stilling Erica’s protests”
synonyms: quiet, silence, hush;

 

I think this is going to be the perfect word for 2015,

So That’s out of the way.I know you are excited huh HA HA.

 

Speaking of “Still” Im FINALLY Weaning off the steroids (GOO MEE!) So Im not sitting  picking out the marshmallows in the Lucky charms any more as much.. or ok.. Ill play along. “STILL”

lucky charms all marshmallows

 

 

That is my dream cereal though. Why they don’t make that. I have no Idea. Cause… MMMHM! :hand up to the lord::

 

I am still feeling a LITTLE.. like this but well if you know me.. I`m kinda this way even without steroids.

 

IM ADELICATE FEMININE FLOWERRR

Yeah, that with the virus on top of it. My face.. Just like that.  I kid you not. But I’m not “still” like that as much. Ok maybe.

staypuff marshmallow  man

NOW THIS… UGHM yeah. I am “STILL” lookin like this.   I love taking steroids because I feel better but man. I reallly do not like what they do to our bodies. Although we feel better on them.  I look like stay puff Marshmallow girl and Michelin man’s love child.   MICHELIN PUFF “STILL” yess I STILL look all puffed out. I know it will go away though.

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~For my Clean eating people and MS People This  is for you~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A TIP OR TWO

RAW ALMONDS.. As long as you don’t have an allergy to nuts. Keep RAW almonds  around in the snack size (yes they make those short zip lock bags) zip lock bags for emergency snacks. In case you get caught in traffic, or You are late to your lunch. Measure them out ahead of time. Keep some in your purse, glove box in car, or gym bag. ALL THE TIME. You can measure them out by cupping the palm of your hand. That is about how many you need to eat (and don’t pile them up)  A few reduced fat triscuits are another option. READ THE SERVING SIZE.  PRE MEASURE IT OUT into the zip lock baggies.  This way you won’t over eat if you are late for meal. It is advisable to  have your meal on time every time.   That isn’t always possible. They make chicken instead of in the can in pouches now. A great quick easy GO MEAL. (can eat it with triscuits  read serving size!!) or straight out of the pouch with a fork.

When you learn to eat to live instead of live to eat. Everything changes.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Having M.S. we are burdened with so many freaky things  Muscle spasms are a constant question people ask about on message boards and chat groups.   Most dr’s prescribe medications that will just make you out of it and all you can do is go to bed.  If you are like myself and have a child. That just can’t happen. we have a life going on and we want to live it. Not sleep all the time.

My goal is to live.  I have found some things that WORK FOR ME  and I am gladly sharing these suggestions here on my blog.  These may not work for you. So try at your own risk. I don’t know your underlying issues so please talk to your dr first ok? Deal? Thanks.

I have battled muscle spasms that are not only painful but down right freaky and crazy. They freeze up, tighten up and the screaming will commence. At times nothing will release them until I just go get shots and everything they can throw at it to just MAKE… IT… STOP. that has happened twice in my life. Looked so freaky to have one leg and hiney cheek tensed up all the time and the other normal.

So when I say We have tried EVERYTHING. Im serious.

I do a LOT of stretching. I have found keeping my muscles stretched helps.

HERE

is a FREE  illustrated step by step manual from the national MS society that shows you several  stretches you can do daily to help alleviate or lessen these muscle spasms. At first it may be hard. It may hurt. You may not be able to do them. Don’t quit, Don’t give up. Keep doing it.  All this didn’t happen in a day. MS got worse over time. It will take time to help.

Start slow on the stretches and build your way to more.

I also use a series of Essential oils to help. Lemon grass (diluted with  coconut oil) because it is a hot oil and can burn your skin also helps me.  I have a mixture of essential oils that I have added to my regime that help me.  Lavender and Lemon grass  are 2 of the ones that seem to help ME to relax my muscles the most when spasming.  Everyone is different and what works on me may not be what works for you.  I will be glad to help you with finding what works for you if you are interested.  just let me know.  I have done a lot of research and also have contact with very knowledgable accredited people that will make sure you do it correctly.

PLEASE DO NOT just go to a store and buy oils and start using them.  All oils are not made the same and there should be a lot of research involved before a decision to use  them.you should have support in helping you educate yourself with them as well.  It can be dangerous just like using vitamins and herbs. It is medicinal and can also interfere with medication you are taking. So always let your dr know if you are taking any essential oils along with a health care medical routine.  There are many do’s and Don’ts. I would be irresponsible if I just  told you OH this helps me get it!! So know that  it is important to use them safely. I care that you get relief not more problems.

Thanks.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

sudden changes in temperature trigger ms

It is believed mostly that HEAT can cause MS to go all bonkers but, DID YOU KNOW, that any sudden change in temperature can trigger an MS flare? This is true.  This was released in a study recently  that any sudden change in temperature can cause symptoms to worsen. So when these “Arctic Blasts” hit and we feel all ickified.. its not just oh I feel cruddy. It truly is our MS. So be watchful of symptoms just like you do when you flare up at other times.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

do you know how much it hurts to say no

I know people with Chronic Illness get this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

hello nerve ending has been disconnected

Keep fighting! Never ever give up!

I’m …

“Still”

Nancy

with a Jones 🙂

Leave a comment